Executive Committee

Slow Food Hunter Valley

Anne Kelly (Leader)

Anne is a passionate educator who has worked in a number of schools in the Hunter Valley and overseas. She worked for a number of years as a quality control officer in a refractory plant before BHP departed Newcastle. She currently has an executive role working in the early years area of a large primary school. Anne co-manages the Stephanie Alexander Kitchen Garden program as the garden specialist at her school, which sees 130 children participating in the program each fortnight. 

Liz Griffiths (Assistant Leader)

Liz has a long history of farming in her background. Originally “from the bush” in the far west of NSW, Liz has also spent many years in the Riverland in SA where she attended an agricultural high school and spent many seasons fruit picking. Liz obtained a BA in Journalism and Communication and an MA in Social Ecology from the University of Western Sydney and has since had a long corporate career (from journalism through to executive management). Liz is a passionate advocate for good, clean and fair food and has returned to her farming roots as an artisan grower and producer. Her goal is to help counter-balance the social inequity associated with a highly industrialised food system.  

NIO Helen Hughes Slow Food Hunter ValleyHelen Hughes (Honorary Secretary)

Helen has been involved in the hospitality industry for many years. She had many wonderful mentors who fuelled her passion for good food & service and this lead to her training role at Hunter TAFE. Over the last 25 years she has taught many front of house students and apprentice chefs who have gone on to make their mark in the industry. She has also been a regular attendee of the Symposia of Australian Gastronomy which bring together a dynamic community of local and international food scholars, designers, farmers, chefs, artisans and passionate eaters. 

Matt Kerr (Honorary Treasurer)

One of the things I value is fairness and unfortunately I witness too often the saturation of large national and multinational corporations that obliterate the smaller businesses that are trying to make a difference in their industry. This issue is all too real when it comes to food, which ignited my passion for growing food, understanding where my food comes from and the challenges associated with getting this food from the paddock to the plate – there are so many things that can go wrong on this journey. I feel many people don’t appreciate the efforts needed to create the food we eat, which is why I joined Slow Food in an effort to educate and promote the value of fairness in the food chain. During my day job I help people in small to medium businesses make the most of their lives, developing and implementing financial strategies that allow them to do the things they want in life whilst letting them focus on what is important to them and what they are good at.

Ruth Adams (Membership Development Officer)

Ruth was born into a large extended farming family. Growing up on a property on the Northern Tablelands of NSW she developed a deep understanding – and working knowledge – of where much of our food comes from. This – together with a passion for learning and education in the areas of nutrition, hospitality, event management and food technology – made joining Slow Food a “perfect fit” for this now urban dweller who is vitally interested in the politics of food and in making a difference.